Home > About New Zealand > New Zealand Public Holidays

New Zealand Public Holidays

New Zealand has ten national public holiday days a year plus one regional anniversary day which varies from province to province. The holidays are:

New Years Day:  1 January

Day after New Years Day:  2 January

Waitangi Day:  6 February

Good Friday:  Varies

Easter Monday:  Varies

ANZAC Day:  25 April

Queen’s Birthday:  1st Monday in June

Labour Day:  4th Monday in October

Christmas Day:  25 December

Boxing Day:  26 December

You can find dates for New Zealand public holidays right up until 2016, as well as details of all the provincial holidays, here.

New Zealanders traditionally take their summer holidays during the Christmas-NewYear period. Many businesses, and all schools, close down for at least the two week period from 25 December until around 10 January. If you can, it’s best to avoid travelling to New Zealand during that time (see When to visit New Zealand). The Easter period and the Waitangi, Queens Birthday and Labour weekends (as well as anniversary holiday weekends) can also be very busy on the roads, so do check out the dates you plan to travel and avoid driving at the start of end of these holiday periods if you can.

Waitangi Day is New Zealand’s national day, a commemoration of the day the Waitangi Treaty between the Maori and European people was signed. If you’re travelling to the Bay of Islands at the beginning of February, be aware that the Waitangi area will be very crowded over this period.

Home Sitemap Contact